ACES Office of Advancement

You are here


Register for iSEE Congress 2017: "Building Resilience to Climate Change"

5:00 PM to Wednesday, September 20, 2:00 PM
The Alice Campbell Alumni Center, 601 S. Lincoln Ave., Urbana, IL 61801

The purpose of this year’s iSEE Congress is to assemble leading national and international scientists from different disciplines to advance scientific understanding about state-of-the-art knowledge on the impacts of climate change on the agricultural sector, on ecosystem services, and on human livelihoods and wellbeing, particularly among the most vulnerable sections of society. The Congress will foster critical thinking not only of the challenges posed by climate change, but also of the areas for further research and institutional development to adapt to it. The event will provide a forum to discuss the near- and medium-term options for building resilience to climate change and policy directions that could contribute to long-term solutions.

Previous iSEE Congresses have been attended by more than 300 faculty, students and others from across campus and stimulated critical thinking on the grand challenges facing society.

iSEE Congress 2017 is supported by generous funding from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign as a symposium in recognition of the Illinois Sesquicentennial — “The Research University at 150: Celebrating the History and the Future of Interdisciplinary Research at Illinois.”

Learn more and register here:

Students: Present your work at iSEE Congress 2017!

During two evening poster sessions, students and post-doctoral researchers will have the opportunity to share their research related to the nature of climate change, its impacts, and adaptation and mitigation strategies with a large and diverse audience. Poster submissions are being accepted now through June 30, 2017.

Register your poster with us via our web form. Note that in addition to filling out this form, we ask all poster presenters to email a headshot to Thank you!

The organizing committee included iSEE Associate Director Madhu Khanna and Illinois faculty members Elizabeth Ainsworth, Brian Allan, Jeffrey Brawn, Carla Cáceres, Don Fullerton, Atul Jain, Stephen P. Long, Sarah Taylor Lovell, Jesse Ribot, and Gillen D’Arcy Wood.